July 28, 2021

While We Were Dating by Jasmine Guillory

While We Were Dating

by Jasmine Guillory

Published July 13, 2021
by Berkley

Rating: 4 Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Romance

While We Were Dating is book 6 in Jasmine Guillory’s The Wedding Date series. Reading this contemporary romance is like being cuddled in a cashmere robe while eating something decadent and chocolatey. It’s soft, warm, and comforting while also feeling indulgent.

About While We Were Dating

Ben, Theo’s younger brother from earlier books, is trying to make a name for himself at an ad agency. He gets his chance at a meeting with a client for a commercial featuring rising Hollywood star, Anna Gardiner. Anna takes a shine to Ben during the meeting and insists that he be in charge during the commercial shoot.

Ben’s footloose and fancy-free, concentrating on his career. Anna’s got a detailed plan to get the plum role in a movie that she knows will get her an Oscar nom. Circumstances throw them together and undeniable chemistry does the rest.

Anna asks Ben to be her fake BF for the next few weeks so she can keep her name in the news and show the studio that she has the name recognition and star power to get that plum role. Ben agrees because who wouldn’t want to be pampered like a Hollywood star’s arm candy?

My thoughts about While We Were Dating

I loved the fauxmance to romance setup, the redeemed player storyline. This is a sweet but steamy contemporary romance with a thoroughly likable cast. Anna is a strong, talented Black woman determined to make it in an industry that favors white women. Ben is a charming cinnamon roll of a man, sexy, teasing, and supportive. And the witty banter between Anna and Ben was sexy and sweet.

I enjoyed the cameos with characters from earlier books. I loved seeing a couple with such strong support from family and friends. That suitcase scene had me gigglesnorting!

Both Ben and Anna talk about therapy. A big ole YES to mental health issues and seeking help for them being normalized. Kudos, Jasmine Guillory! And for acknowledging that it’s a journey, not a one-and-done thing.

Perfect for fans of Talia Hibbert and Farrah Rochon.

In conclusion

This book is so charming, steamy, upbeat, engaging, sexy, and fun! I was incredibly sorry when I got to the last page – I wanted the story to keep going!

Thank you NetGalley and Berkley for the ARC.

Subscribe to my blog, Undine Reads, or follow my Bookstagram to get even more bookish content.

SHARE:
Romance 0 Replies to “While We Were Dating by Jasmine Guillory”