With a Book in Our Hands

Eighteen reviewers telling you the good, the bad, and the ugly

With a Book in Our Hands

Eighteen reviewers telling you the good, the bad, and the ugly

Category: Historical Fiction

November 19, 2021

The Mrs. Tabor

The laws of survival always trump the rules of etiquette.
Every age has its iconic blonde bombshell. In the 1880s, it’s Baby Doe, America’s original gold digger. Based on a true story, The Mrs. Tabor seduces with a scandalous tale of love and fortunes found and lost.

November 16, 2021

The Wicked Widow

Gin Kelly, the wicked redhead, is back! Readers will delight in next installment of the Wicked City series by New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams.

November 9, 2021

The Cartographer’s Secret

A young woman’s quest to heal a family rift entangles her in one of Australia’s greatest historical puzzles when an intricately illustrated map offers a clue to the fate of a long-lost girl. A mesmerizing historical mystery set in the Hunter Valley from bestselling author Tea Cooper for readers of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton.

November 2, 2021

Anticipation

From the author of the “engrossing historical epic” (Booklist) The Scribe of Siena comes a thrilling tale set in the crumbling city of Mystras, Greece, in which a scientist’s vacation with her young son quickly turns into a fight for their lives after they cross paths with a man out of time.

October 19, 2021

Once Upon a Wardrobe

From Patti Callahan, the bestselling author of Becoming Mrs. Lewis, comes another enchanting story that pulls back the curtain on the early life of C. S. Lewis.

“Where did Narnia come from?”

The answer will change everything.

October 17, 2021

The Lighthouse Witches

The Lighthouse Witches by C. J. Cooke Published October 5, 2021by Berkley Rating: 4 Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Genre: Gothic Mystery DESCRIPTION Two sisters go missing on a remote Scottish island. Twenty years later, one is found–but she’s still the same age as when she disappeared. The secrets of witches have reached across the centuries in this chilling Gothic thriller […]

October 14, 2021

The King’s Anatomist: The Journey of Andreas Vesalius

A debut novel by Ron Blumenfeld, The King’s Anatomist is a fascinating medical history blended eloquently with meaningful relationships and a riveting mystery. Set within a pivotal time in European history, the story carries readers through some of the most important medical discoveries while engaging them in a deeply personal story of growing older and confronting relationships. A fictional masterpiece with real and relevant historical sources, The King’s Anatomist is as enlightening as it is enjoyable.

October 12, 2021

Voices in the Mist

Marry a Catholic stranger, or flee the only world she’s ever known: Headstrong Bruna de Gansard must choose one or the other to protect her Cathar family from the inquisitors. The Orphans of Tolosa Trilogy comes to a dramatic end in this gripping story of loyalty and betrayal, set amidst the violence and peril of the Albigensian Crusades.

You are here: Page 0