April 26, 2021

My Little Girl

My Little Girl

by author: Shalini Boland

Published date: 22 April 2021
by publisherBookouture

Rating: 4 Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: genre

Your daughter is missing. Did someone close to you take her?

Seven-year-old Beatrice has gone missing. Her mother Claire’s whole world has been turned upside down in just one moment and she can’t stop shaking. She’s desperate to find her precious daughter, but nothing about the day she disappeared makes sense…

The mother-in-law: Jill was meant to be looking after Beatrice. She says she didn’t take her eyes off the little girl but her version of events doesn’t add up… Claire has never got on with her, so why should she trust her now?

The husband: He should have been with their only child. Instead, he changed the plans without telling Claire. She didn’t think there were any secrets between them, but maybe she was wrong?

The first wife: Laurel has always been jealous of Claire’s family. Has her husband’s ex-wife taken her daughter?

Which one of them is lying? And who really knows where Beatrice is?

From the million-copy bestselling author, this totally addictive psychological thriller will keep you guessing all the way to the final shocking twist. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us.

Linda’s thoughts:


I’ve read lots of Shalini Boland books and enjoyed them all, and enjoyed this book too.
You are into the child kidnap plot very quickly with Bea being snatched from under the nose of her grandmother Jill I enjoyed the alternating chapters of mum Claire and Jill, but more so the untitled chapters.
I had a few theories going as I was reading, but didn’t manage to work out who the culprit was.
One of my kids used to wander, have lost sight of her in an airport and on board a ferry, so I really felt it when Jill realised that Bea was gone, and really felt those first few chapters were well written.
Overall an enjoyable book.

Patricia’s thoughts

Right away, this is a book any parent can relate to. Seven-year-old Beatrice has disappeared without a trace! The time my 3-year-old got away from me in a huge department store and hid under the clothes rack? Check! The time I had to chaperone 5 boys on an elementary school field trip to the zoo? Check! If anything, I would have wanted everyone involved to be a little bit more panicked. Claire is definitely not going to sit around and let the police work at their own pace, but she also calls in every suspicion she has, which rubs quite a few people the wrong way. Based how scatter-brained Jill (Beatrice’s grandmother) was described at the beginning I was shocked to learn she was only 65 – so that took away some of the believability for me. But her attempts to redeem herself were heartwarming! I felt like shaking Claire’s husband, Ollie when he became emotionally unavailable to her. Although they supposedly had a good marriage, he winds up withholding information from her that could have helped the case. Overall, this was a fast-paced suspense novel with a lot of red herrings, lots of suspects and a great ending and epilogue. Thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for an advanced reader’s copy for review.

SHARE:
Crime Fiction, General Fiction (Adult), Psychological Suspense 0 Replies to “My Little Girl”