May 27, 2021

Happy Endings by Thien-Kim Lam

Happy Endings

by Thien-Kim Lam

Published May 18, 2021
by publisher Avon Books

Rating: 4 Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Romance

About Happy Endings

During Happy Endings by Thien-Kim Lam, Trixie disappointed her parents by dropping out of grad school and moving to DC. She’s working selling sex toys at parties, hoping to open her own store. She also volunteers at a women’s shelter, conducting sex education classes. After her Boss Babes group encourages her to think outside the box, she approaches another volunteer at the shelter with the idea of hosting a pop-up shop in the woman’s restaurant.

It’s an awesome, entrepreneurial idea! Until she shows up and finds out that Andre, her ex – the one who broke up with her via Post-It, is the restaurant’s co-owner. And he’s very certain that his family’s restaurant is no place for vibrators and flavored lube.

My thoughts about Happy Endings

This debut has such a steamy-sweet vibe between Trixie and Andre. They both feel badly about the breakup and feel an undeniable attraction. But they’re also juggling other pressures. Andre feels compelled to live up to his mother’s legacy and keep the restaurant going, despite business dropping because of gentrification efforts. Although he’s dubious about having a popup sex shop in the restaurant.

Trixie wants her own business and wants to heal the rift with her parents. She wants them to be proud of her accomplishments. She’s also a passionate force for educating women about their bodies.

Lots of diversity – Trixie and her roomie are Vietnamese American, Andre and his sister are Black. Lots of body positivity – one of the Boss Babes is plus-sized and she designs lingerie for all sizes.

You’ve got a second chance romance that starts off as enemies to lovers to friends with benefits.

The small businesses that are more than just a bottom line as they give back to their communities. Andre by providing a weekly community meal to his neighborhood. Trixie with her volunteer work.

I loved that the author is sharing all types of love and caring. And showing that while sex is awesome, it doesn’t take the place of communication between partners.

The descriptions of southern food and Vietnamese food made my mouth water.

The title, plus Trixie’s sex toy shop, plus the expectation of romances having a HEA were a perfect storm of punnery. Very enjoyable, erotic, own voices story with sex and body positivity, and lots of supportive friendships. For fans of Farah Herron and Alisha Rai.

In conclusion

While promoted as a romance, Happy Endings, Thien-Kim Lam’s debut is also about strong women supporting each other, sex positivity, and what gentrification does to small, minority-owned businesses.

Thank you NetGalley and Avon Books for the ARC.

Subscribe to my blog, Undine Reads, or follow my Bookstagram to get even more bookish content.

SHARE:
Romance 0 Replies to “Happy Endings by Thien-Kim Lam”