February 11, 2021

Blog Tour – Her Perfect Life

Her Perfect Life

by Sam Hepburn

Published February 10, 2021
by Bookouture

Rating: 5 Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Psychological Thriller

A brilliantly twisty psychological thriller for fans of I Let You Go and Behind Closed Doors.

How far would you go to create the perfect life?

Gracie Dwyer has it all: the handsome husband, the adorable child, the beautiful home and the glittering career. The perfect life.

Her new friend Juliet doesn’t exactly fit in. She’s a down-on-her-luck single parent with no money and not much hope.

So just what is it that draws Gracie and Juliet together? And when the cracks start to appear in Gracie’s perfect life, can both of them survive?

Stephanie’s thoughts:

I just love the way Sam Hepburn writes so I jumped all over grabbing this book as soon as I saw it! Her Perfect Life is even better than Gone Before, which I loved! It was absolutely unputdownable as I tried to figure out the thoughts and motivations behind Gracie, Tom, Juliet, and all of the side characters! My hand kept flying to my mouth as the pieces dropped into place. I wanted to run back and read through parts again to see the clues that I missed! The ending was different from books I’m used to reading and I totally loved it! I totally recommend this book!

Huge thank you to Bookouture via NetGalley for allowing me to read this book in advance in exchange for my totally honest review. 

Patricia’s thoughts ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow – there was so much going on in this book!

When Juliet was first introduced, I was rooting for her – she’s on the cusp of getting awarded a big project…but man is she one bitter lady. She’s jealous about the the success of Gracie, a woman who has it all – looks, a handsome husband, a big house and a famous cooking show. But there is a bratty daughter who is the link between them as single mom Juliet maneuvers her way into Gracie’s life by way of her daughter Freya, a kind little girl who goes along with whatever her mom wants.

You can’t help but like Gracie, because even when she’s feeling put out she responds with a smile and food. Speaking of which, do not read this book if you are hungry! The descriptions of gourmet dishes had me looking up definitions to see what these edible creations were. The author really did her research (and it’s worth reading the author’s note to the reader at the back of the book – “A Letter From Sam”).

Did I mention there was a lot going on? At times, characters seemed to jump into the story and I found myself doing a search to see if the character was mentioned before, but they hadn’t been. So a little more back story when characters were introduced could have helped to smooth some of the transitions. I also found some unresolved (for me) threads, like what was the nanny, Heather’s deal? And was there more than one stalker? I also found the diary entries annoying. I knew they would be tied into the plot eventually, but that technique breaks up the flow of reading for me. However, the ending was so unexpected, I can forgive the quirkiness and applaud the author for her creativity.

Thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for an advanced reader’s copy of this interesting read.

SHARE:
General Fiction (Adult), Mystery, Thriller 0 Replies to “Blog Tour – Her Perfect Life”