With a Book in Our Hands

Eighteen reviewers telling you the good, the bad, and the ugly

With a Book in Our Hands

Eighteen reviewers telling you the good, the bad, and the ugly

January 17, 2021

You Have A Match

You Have a Match

By Emma Lord

Published January 12th 2021 by Wednesday Books

Rating: 4 Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Young Adult Romance

About You Have a Match

Abby and her two BFFs, Leo and Connie take DNA tests. Abby’s results reveal a secret older sister. In a year that’s already had its challenges -her grandfather passed away, her grades are slipping, and there was the BEI (Big Embarrassing Incident) with Leo – can she handle one more big change? Especially when that change is Savvy, a seemingly perfect, Instagram star of an older sister.

Abby convinces her parents to send her to summer camp – the one where Savvy is a camp counselor so they can figure out what happened with their parents.

When concocting the plan, Abby doesn’t realize that it’s the same camp where Leo is also a camp counselor. Oops. Emma Lord perfectly captures the sweet awkwardness of a teen crush.

And how hard it is to follow your passion when you think you’re disappointing the people you care about.

My thoughts about You Have a Match

You Have a Match by Emma Lord, the author of Tweet Cute, was chosen as Reese’s Book Club Winter YA Pick. And it’s easy to see why. It’s a sweet story about family and love and being true to yourself. With a strong Parent Trap vibe.

Abby is so relatable. Curious and passionate, she’s trying to not let anyone down and nearly losing herself in the process. She’s passionate about her photography, accident-prone, and doggedly determined to get to the bottom of the mystery.

This is a fast read with a heartwarming storyline. Emma Lord perfectly captures the angst and awkwardness of first love.

There’s a diverse cast with Asian, Black and LGBTQ+ characters. Grief over losing a family member and questions about being adopted are handled in a straightforward manner.

Perfect for fans of Dash and Lily.

Thank you NetGalley and Wednesday Books for the ARC.

Author

  • Book blogger and enthusiastic reader. Former bookstore owner. Current library marketer and podcaster. Books, cats, and coffee are a huge part of my life. And glitter. Always glitter.

SHARE:
Romance, Young Adult Fiction One Reply to “You Have A Match”
Laura
Laura Eckert

COMMENTS

One comment on “You Have A Match

    Author’s gravatar

    this sounds like the cutest book. It’s going on my TBR list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: